Mediocrity.

My poem “Mediocre” reflects the part of me that wishes I was blindingly successful in at least one endeavor. I feel like I’m semi-decent at a range of things that I genuinely love doing, but it means I don’t dedicate the time to mastering just one.

When I try to multitask in day to day life, I end up with 3 tasks completed to a sub-par standard rather than a single task done well. I’m a little worried that that’s what I am doing to myself over the course of my life, spreading myself too thin to accomplish anything of note. I’m scared that no matter how hard I try, I’ll never actually reach a summit in life that I’m proud to be at.

I dream of one day being proficient and respected in an area that adds value to people’s lives. I look at where I am now, and”Mediocre” is what I feel most. I want to do better, and be better. I know that I am capable of so much more.

I could never settle for anything less than my best.

Leave a Reply

