Pressure

Towards the end of 2015, I decided to take an entire year off from my university degree. I was only studying one subject at the time, but I still felt like I had to get away. I made the decision to focus on myself, my mental health, and my personal life goals. In hindsight, it was probably the best decision I’ve ever made in my life.

An invaluable Summer Camp experience, some pretty sweet travel, The Nigerian Nomad blog, and a new direction in life all came out of one amazing year. I came back from overseas feeling passionate and determined, and threw myself into some pretty sweet projects.

It’s been roughly 15 months since I was last in class, and I’m back in the swing of things. I feel completely ready to be studying again, and I really like being here. I love expanding my knowledge, and being encouraged to challenge my norms and assumptions about the state of the world. I really want to do well in my degree, and so I need to give my studies the time and commitment that they need.

I’ve gotten to the point in semester where assessments have begun rolling in. Add to it the commitment of my 30 Day Writing Challenge, and I’m starting to feel the pressure. So far, I’ve committed as much time and effort as necessary each day and published every post on time. Some have been better than others, but that’s all part of the learning curve. I’m glad I’ve stuck with it this far.

There’s only a week left in the challenge, so it’ll be interesting to see how it ends. I fully intend on completing it, but I also hope to nail my degree. With 2 assessments due over the next week, the last 7 days will be a balancing act. It’s going to require me coming up with short, quality blog posts, in order to be able to focus on getting my assessments completed well.

Enough blogging for today. It’s time for me to get to work.

dilbert - work.jpg
“Dilbert” Comic, by Scott Adams. (Source)

 

Leave a Reply

