Kangaroos in my backyard

I’ve traveled to some pretty cool countries, but I haven’t really explored all the beauty and wonder of my own. That’s a flaw I am working to rectify.

Sometimes it’s just a matter of saying yes to new things.

20161228_092613.jpg

4 hours south of Sydney, with an approximate permanent population of just 300 people, South Durras is quiet, serene and absolutely beautiful. It makes for a very attractive holiday destination, and I leapt at the chance to visit a few months back, in the middle of summer.

20161228_103757.jpg

Looking at it now, this gorgeous rocky formation reminds me of a delicious tub of ice cream. Back when we were precariously trying to creep along it with a pram and a toddler? Not so much.

South Durras will always be fondly remembered as the place where I finally had my first ever unassisted surf. I don’t mean to brag, but I stood up for all of 3 seconds. Shout out to Quicksilver and Ripcurl, I’m totally ready for my sponsorship deal.

20161228_100019.jpg

Having grown up near the city, small rural towns are always going to be somewhat refreshing. Dazzling stars at night, quiet beaches, the glorious absence of traffic jams, and always finding a private spot to yourself. Only in small country towns will you literally have kangaroos coming up to eat out of the palm of your hand.

I’m eager to see more of Rural Australia, both the coastal towns and the in-land oases. I want to explore new places, but I also want to live in the communities and experience the subtle differences in culture. I’d love to get a better understanding of what it’s actually like to live in the country, and learn first hand about the challenges that rural towns face. It may only take a few hours drive to get out there, but sometimes those places feel like an entire world away.

You don’t need to sit on a plane for 14 hours to be able explore the unknown. There are amazing things to discover and adventures to be had so much closer than you think. Take the time to go somewhere new nearby, somewhere cheap, local, and easy.

Find the kangaroos hiding in your backyard.

Leave a Reply

