Perfectionism

I’m new to this whole blogging thing.

I’m struggling to find a happy medium between writing that is brief and easy, and slaving over something until it has no perceivable flaws whatsoever. The former often isn’t great quality, and the latter will always be an unachievable goal.

If I read my post over and over again, I’m eventually going to find something that doesn’t quite sound right, something that needs to be written better. The reality is, my blog can never be 100% devoid of flaws. I can spend an entire week editing just one post, and still miss a simple spelling or grammatical error – and there lies the essence of perfectionism. Unfortunately, being a perfectionist will never actually make what I create perfect. It just means I constantly wish it was.

Sometimes what I intend as a short opinion piece turns into a 1500 word essay, permeated with personal anecdote and emotional outpourings. I’ll constantly re-read and re-word,  stressing over how it’ll be perceived by the reader. Without a deadline, this process could go on indefinitely.

Now I could give myself a deadline, but then again – FUCK. THAT.

After 4 years of uni, I’ve learned that there are few things I hate more than deadline stress. A deadline can turn a normally enjoyable and fulfilling activity into a soul sucking slog of stress and tears. I’ll do my best to reach my goal of blogging and writing regularly, but I don’t ever plan to confine myself to any sort of due date.

This blog just makes me distinctly aware that I can’t let the desire for perfection get in the way of what I love doing. There’s nothing wrong with having high standards, and I’m glad I have them; I just hope to leave behind the constant obsessing, and instead create as much quality written work as I can.

I need to find a happy medium, or else I’ll never be satisfied with anything that I create. Worst of all, getting caught up in trying to make each little sentence perfect will only make me write less and less; the opposite of what I want to achieve. Personal posts, stories, travel summaries, opinion pieces, creative passages and more; with each post, I’ll improve as a writer and become a better blogger. Of course, nothing helps me to improve as much as feedback from my readers.

So drop me a line, and let me know what you think; the perfectionist in me wholeheartedly thanks you in advance.

 

2 thoughts on “Perfectionism

  1. You have totally captured my thoughts and feelings about writing and enjoying blogging. I am working on writing quality blogs and short writings without stressing over dates. It has been somewhat challenging but getting better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one.

      I think putting ourselves under stress can only be counter productive to writing well, and it’s definitely way less enjoyable.

      Glad to hear that you’re getting there. I hope you’re able to find that happy medium

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

