A Ray of Sunshine

Happy days! I’ve been nominated by A Worldy Addiction for the The Sunshine Blogger Award. It’s shared with/given to positive bloggers who “creatively inspire others in the blogosphere”, and I’m absolutely thrilled to be nominated!

It’s such an ego boost to feel like people appreciate my blog. I love interacting with other bloggers, and seeing how others explore the world and their ideas through their writing. It feels awesome to slowly become part of the blogging community, and I really hope to make a positive contribution as I build my site and improve as a blogger.

As part of this informal award, I’ve been asked 10 questions that I’ll be answering below. It’s then up to me to nominate 11 others and ask them another 10 questions. Massive thanks to Adelaide for nominating me; I think it’s an amazing way to add positive content to the blogosphere, and a really simple way to get bloggers involved.

And plus, I really like talking about myself 😉

ottawa2
Enjoying some sunshine in Ottawa.

1) What’s your ideal Saturday night consist of?

Probably playing a bit of sport – either soccer, futsal, or table tennis – or just a night in with someone close. Or even better, playing some sport followed by a night in with someone close; I come home, shower, cook a nice meal and then we just sit together and watch a movie.

2) Where would you love to live in the world?

That’s a tough one! I’m a bit biased towards places I’ve already been; Canada has been absolutely amazing and I can definitely see myself living here for a fair while. That being said, I’d love to see what it’s like to live somewhere in South-East Asia – it’ll probably be my next big destination.

3) Where do you think is the most peaceful place you’ve visited and why?

Rural Australia. Sweet nothing but grass fields, bushland and empty space for miles around. I felt so calm and tranquil driving through the outback, especially in the late afternoon when the sun sort of draped the landscape in a rich orange glow. At night, the stars out there look absolutely amazing too. I get all poetic just thinking about it.

4) Mountains or ocean?

Ocean. I’ve actually never been on a proper mountain and I’d love to go skiing and snowboarding one day, but I grew up on the beautiful beaches of the Illawarra and South Coast – so it’s an easy choice for me.

port-kembla
Port Kembla beach will forever hold a special place in my heart.

5) If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

Mind reading. I’ve always wanted to know what other people were truly thinking, and if they meant what they said.

6) What advice would you give to yourself at age 16?

Firstly, put your head down and work as hard as possible on the things that you love. Soccer, writing, public speaking, creative arts, whatever it is – pour your time and effort into them. Just because you have a bit of natural talent for things, does NOT mean you should just sit back and settle for the level you’re at. Instead, work hard to improve yourself at everything you can, and never settle for anything less than your best.

Secondly,  It’s OK to be alone, and it’s OK to feel lonely; sometimes it’s better to be alone than to be with the wrong crowd. It’s OK to be sad, or angry, or confused. It’s OK to not be OK. It is most definitely OK to have absolutely no idea when it comes to girls – there’s way too much pressure on you anyway, and it’s the sort of thing you kinda work out as you go. It’s OK to make mistakes, so don’t be so hard on yourself – recognise them, learn from them, and move on. You are not perfect, and you never will be; and despite what your family may lead you to believe, you’re not supposed to be either.

And lastly, stress less about what others think about you, or whether they like you or not. Just work on you. Not only will it begin to matter so much less, you’ll also end up with a self confidence and self assurance that will draw people to you, and make them like you for who you actually are.

year10-formal
15 year old me, just before the year 10 formal. If only I knew then what I know now.

7) Where’s your happy place?

Wherever my guitar is. Sometimes I’ll sit in my car at Wollongong’s light house and watch the ocean while strumming away, or I could be sitting somewhere sunny on the UOW campus, like the Duck Pond Lawn.

8) What’s the one thing you can’t leave your house without?

Phone, keys, wallet. Less boring choices include my skateboard, or some sort of pen and paper, should I need to jot something down. If I HAD to pick just one, it would definitely have to be my phone; I have a pathological need to stay connected.

9) What’s the best book you’ve read recently?

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green. John doesn’t dance around awkward issues, and I love how he always tells it as is. Also, we’re totally on first name basis since he replied to one of my emails not too long ago (low key fandude* moment).

*Like ‘fangirl’, but for dudes. Also to be distinguished from ‘fanboy’, which has way too many un-classy connotations.

10) If you could be president or prime minister of your country for one day, what would you do?

First, I’d tear down our current foreign policy and rebuild something more humane. Refugees shouldn’t be treated as a scourge upon our country, but as fellow human beings.

Secondly, I’d take more long term steps around climate change. I’d invest in green energies and green technologies, introduce incentives for large corporations to make the switch, and heavily subsidise innovations that are designed to make our country greener. I just think that green energy innovation will be at the centre of humanity’s future.

Lastly, I would take steps to create a Nation State for Indigenous Australians. The culture continues to be marginalised and suppressed, and I’m genuinely worried that it is on the way to dying out completely. I’d love to see Indigenous Australians not just survive, but thrive as an independent peoples, to the point where they would be recognised by, and represented at the UN. For that, I think having their own official territory that’s still an integral part of Australia (just think of the UK) would be the most major step to encouraging the culture to consolidate, redefine who they are, and flourish into who they want to be.

parliament-house
Australian Parliament House (SOURCE). I could totally see myself there one day. 

Once again, thanks Adelaide! I really enjoyed writing this. Number 6 (advice to my 16 year old self) was probably my favourite; it’s a question I haven’t asked myself before, and it turned out to be quite cathartic. Number 10 (being prime minister) was pretty awesome too; those aren’t really conversations I get to have too often.

For my nominees, I’ve tried to choose people that challenge me, inspire me or have helped me to better myself. My nominees may astound me with their intelligence, show incredible kindness, or simply mean a lot to me as a friend; above all, I greatly admire them all in some way.

Now this award is originally designed to be for bloggers; but because I only personally know 3 other bloggers (one of whom has just nominated me), I’m going to fill the other 9 slots with Facebook friends. If those 9 don’t have a blog, I kindly request that they post their answers to Facebook.

tiavii.wordpress.com
Alex Cooper
Catherine Leroux
Marie-Jacqueline Thomas
Mayriza Labre
Steph Hazelton
Dominic Tier
Laura Primiceri
Evelyn Fetterplace
Tereza Pejovska
Matt Lavis

My 10 questions for you all; no small talk, just straight to the big stuff. It’s fine to say you don’t know, but please try to explain why.

1) What’s something you hope to do before you die?
2) What is one skill you wish you had, and why don’t you have it yet?
3) What do you believe is our purpose in life; why do you believe we exist?
4) If you could change/instantly have 3 things in your life right now, what would they be?
5) What is your biggest regret or failure?
6) What are you personally most proud of?
7) Are you genuinely happy in life? Right now, are you OK?**
8) What is your favourite thing in the world?
9) What was the last thing you created?
10) What would you most like to be known or remembered for?

**It’s okay to say you’re not. I think it’s one of the most important questions we can sincerely ask someone, including ourselves. I genuinely want to know, and I promise if need be, I will be here to support you in anyway I can.

If you’re not sure what to do:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you
  2. Answer the questions from the person who has nominated you
  3. Nominate 11 people
  4. Write 10 questions for those you have nominated
  5. Notify the people you have nominated

Spread the sunshine!

Leave a Reply

